Host, Presenters Named for Jan. 29 DGA Awards


Carl Reiner will return as host for the 63rd Annual Directors Guild of America Awards, marking the 23rd time he has hosted the awards ceremony.

This year’s ceremony will take place Jan. 29 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles.

The confirmed presenters so far are Michael Apted, Kathryn Bigelow, Steve Buscemi, James Cameron, Helena Bonham Carter, Francis Ford Coppola, Claire Danes, Leonardo DiCaprio, Clint Eastwood, Colin Firth, Jenna Fischer, Andrew Garfield, Taylor Hackford, Armie Hammer, Melissa Leo, Jack McGee, Helen Mirren, Julia Ormond, Jim Parsons, Natalie Portman, John Rich, Katey Sagal, Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg, Julia Stiles, Sofía Vergara and Mark Wahlberg

Beginning with the awards ceremony, the DGA will launch a year-long celebration of its 75th anniversary.

According to the DGA website: Past DGA Award winners Kathryn Bigelow, James Cameron, Francis Ford Coppola, Clint Eastwood, John Rich, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg, the evening’s co-chairs, will join the program in special presentations to highlight game-changing moments in DGA history. Past-president Michael Apted is serving as chair of the year-long anniversary celebration, whose theme is “Game Changers.” Throughout 2011, the DGA will hold events honoring directors whose impact on film and television forever “changed the game” and influenced generations of filmmakers that followed.

. . .

Follow Sean Gerski on Twitter at