All Set For the 63rd Festival del film Locarno

The 63rd Festival del film Locarno – the first showcase signed by new artistic director, Olivier Père – will be launched today, Aug. 4.

Locarno’s 2010 edition includes 280 titles, programmed in 11 sections. Besides the two feature competitions — the Concorso internazionale (International Competition) and Concorso Cineasti del presente (Filmmakers of the Present Competition) – the selection comprises, among others, an Ernst Lubitsch retrospective; a series of shorts celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Pardi di domani section (Leopards of Tomorrow); special screenings to mark the Locarno special prizes for Chiara Mastroianni, JIA Zhang-ke, Alain Tanner, Menahem Golan and Francesco Rosi; a tribute to U.S. actor John C. Reilly and French artist Philippe Parreno; a special Central Asian program within the Open Doors coproduction laboratory.

The list of guests at the 63rd festival comprises Bruce LaBruce, François Sagat, Valeria Golino, Riccardo Scamarcio, Eran Riklis, Louis Garrel, Christophe Honoré, Jeanne Balibar, Luca Guadagnino, Alba Rohrwacher, Matt Smith, Jay Duplass, Benoit Magimel, Cédric Anger, Garri Bardine, Quentin Dupieux, Eric Caravaca, Gilbert Melki, Eric Khoo, Melvil Poupaud, Lionel Baier, Golshifteh Farahani, Maren Ade, Joshua Safdie, Eduardo Antin, Anita Caprioli, Joachim Lafosse, Thom Andersen, Lisandro Alonso, Sylvie Pialat, Nina Meurisse, Miguel Gomes, Corneliu Porumboiu, Ulrich Thomsen, Wotan Wilke Möhring, Burghart Klaussner, Katrin Sass, Sebastian Blomberg, Jacqueline Veuve, Manuel Loewensberger, Christian Frei, Paul Riniker, Sabine Timoteo, Roeland Wiesnekker, Nahuel Perez Biscayart, Anna Thalbach, Jean-Luc Bideau.

Director Benoit Jacquot attends "Au Fond De Bois" photocall during the 63rd Locarno Film Festival on Aug. 4, 2010, in Locarno, Switzerland. (Photo by Vittorio Zunino Celotto/WireImage)

. . .

Follow It’s Just Movies on Twitter at