American Society of Cinematographers Names Nominees

Matthew Libatique — “Black Swan,” Wally Pfister — “Inception,” Danny Cohen — “The King’s Speech,” Jeff Cronenweth — “The Social Network,” and Roger Deakins — “True Grit” have been nominated in the feature film category of the 25th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards.

The winner will be announced at the ASC Awards celebration at the Hollywood and Highland Grand Ballroom on Feb. 13.

“These five people have set the standard for today’s cinematography,” said Awards Committee Chairman Richard Crudo. “Although they were nominated for a variety of films, they share the common denominator of extraordinary talent and good taste. Just their mere presence on set would elevate any production.”

This is the ninth nomination for Deakins in the ASC feature film competition and the third nomination for Pfister. Cohen, Cronenweth and Libatique are all first-time nominees.

“The artistically diverse approaches these talented cinematographers employed are a glimpse at what visionaries with a camera can accomplish,” said ASC President Michael Goi. “They are visual storytellers of the highest caliber.”

    Matthew Libatique, “Black Swan”
    Wally Pfister, “Inception”
    Danny Cohen, “The King’s Speech”
    Jeff Cronenweth, “The Social Network”
    Roger Deakins, “True Grit”

. . .

“Like” It’s Just Movies on Facebook at