DGA Awards Documentary Nominees Named

Directors Guild of America President Taylor Hackford has announced the DGA’s nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentaries for the year 2011.

“The remarkable documentaries made by this year’s nominees take audiences on a journey, whether casting light on injustice or exploring the human condition in all of its nuance, cruelty, creativity and triumph,” said Hackford. “Our nominees represent the best in documentary filmmaking and I congratulate each of them on a job well done.”

The winners will be announced at the 64th Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Jan. 28 in the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles. The DGA Awards will be hosted by director/actor/producer Kelsey Grammer.

The nominees for the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary for 2011 are (in alphabetical order):


“Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory” (Radical Media, HBO Documentary Films)

This is the third DGA Award nomination for Berlinger and Sinofsky and all in this category. They won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary for Brother’s Keeper in 1992. They were also nominated for Paradise Lost in 1996.


“The Interrupters” (Kartemquin Films, WGBH/Frontline, The Independent Television Services, BBC Storyville, Rise Films)

This is James’ third DGA Award nomination in this category. He won the DGA Award for Outstanding Achievement in Documentary for Hoop Dreams in 1994. He was also nominated (along with Peter Gilbert) for At the Death House Door in 2008.


“Project Nim” (Red Box Films, Passion Pictures, HBO Documentary Films, Roadside Attractions, BBC Films, UK Film Council)

This is Marsh’s second DGA Award nomination. He was previously nominated in this category for Man on Wire in 2008.


“Bill Cunningham New York” (First Thought Films, Zeitgeist Films)

This is Press’ first DGA Award nomination.


“George Harrison: Living in the Material World” (Sikelia Productions, Spitfire Pictures, Grove Street Pictures)

This is Scorsese’s tenth DGA Award nomination. He is also nominated this year in the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film category for Hugo. He won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film in 2006 for The Departed, and was previously nominated in that category for Taxi Driver (1976), Raging Bull (1980), Goodfellas (1990), The Age of Innocence (1993), Gangs of New York (2002), and The Aviator (2004). Scorsese won the DGA Award last year for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Television for Boardwalk Empire. In 1999, Scorsese was presented with the Filmmaker Award at the inaugural DGA Honors Gala, and he was honored with the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2003.

. . .

“Like” It’s Just Movies on Facebook at

Comments are closed.