39th Annie Award Winners Announced


The International Animated Film Society announced the winners of the 39th Annual Annie Awards last night, Feb. 4, at UCLA’s Royce Hall. The award show — which celebrates the best in animation — was hosted by Patton Oswalt.

The night’s biggest winners included “Rango,” which took home the prize for Best Animated Feature and the Member’s Favorite Award, and “The Simpsons,” which won the Best General Audience Animated TV Production Award and a trophy for Writing in a Television Production.

Other noteworthy awards went to Bill Nighy, who received the Voice Acting in a Feature Production prize for his work in “Arthur Christmas,” and John Williams, who was honored for Music in a Feature Production for “The Adventures of Tintin.”


Best Animated Feature: “Rango”

Best Animated Short Subject: “Adam and Dog,” Minkyu Lee

Best General Audience Animated TV Production: “The Simpsons”

Best Animated Television Production for Children: “The Amazing World of Gumball”

Best Animated Television Production for Pre-school Children: “Disney Jake and the Never Land Pirates”

Best Animated Special Production: “Kung Fu Panda – Secrets of the Masters”

Best Animated Television Commercial: Twinings “Sea,” Psyop

Best Animated Video Game: “Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet”

Member’s Favorite Award: “Rango”


Directing in a Feature Production: Jennifer Yuh Nelson, “Kung Fu Panda 2”

Writing in a Feature Production: John Logan, Gore Verbinski and James Byrkit, “Rango”

Character Design in a Feature Production: Mark “Crash” McCreery, “Rango”

Editing in a Feature Production: Craig Wood, “Rango”

Storyboarding in a Feature Production: Jeremy Spears, “Winnie the Pooh”

Music in a Feature Production: John Williams, “The Adventures of Tintin”

Animated Effects in an Animated Production: Kevin Romond, “The Adventures of Tintin”

Animated Effects in a Live-Action Production: Florent Andorra, “Transformers: Dark of the Moon”

Character Animation in a Live Action Production: Eric Reynolds, “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”

Character Animation in a Feature Production: Jeff Gabor, “Rio”

Production Design in a Feature Production: Raymond Zibach, “Kung Fu Panda 2”

Voice Acting in a Feature Production: Bill Nighy, “Arthur Christmas”

Directing in a Television Production: Matthew Natsuk, “The Simpsons”

Writing in a Television Production: Carolyn Omine, “The Simpsons: Treehouse of Horror XXII”

Character Design in a Television Production: Bill Schwab, “Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice”

Editing in a Television Production: Ted Machold, Jeff Adams, Doug Tiano and Bob Tomlinson, “The Penguins of Madagascar”

Storyboarding in a Television Production: Brian Kesinger, “Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice”

Music in a Television Production: Grace Potter and Michael Giacchino, “Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice”

Character Animation in a Television Production: Tony Smeed, “Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice”

Production Design in a Television Production: Mark Bodnar, Chris Tsirgiotis, Sue Mondt and Daniel Elson, “Secret Mountain Fort Awesome”

Voice Acting in a Television Production: Jeff Bennett, “The Penguins of Madagascar”

June Foray Award: Art Leonardi

Windsor McCay Award: Ronald Searle

Windsor McCay Award: Walt Peregoy

Windsor McCay Award: Borge Ring

Special Achievment Annie Award: Depth Analysis

. . .

Follow Sean Gerski on Twitter at

And don’t forget to “Like” It’s Just Movies on Facebook at

1 Comments Add Yours ↓

  1. H Solo #

    I did like Rango more than I expected to.